SQFARM.
Fallbach Art Research Movement

From an entity in seclusion to a meeting place: animal and human, human and nature, nature and contemporary art.

The "SQFARM. - Fallbach Art Research Movement" in Anger, Bavaria, is a center for contemporary dance and art.

The Fallbach farm in the municipality of Anger in the Berchtesgadener Land region of Bavaria has undergone regular transformations in its 500-year history: While in the beginning, there was a focus on dairy farming, in recent decades the agricultural activity has shifted towards a contemporary balance of horse farming and ecologically conscious use of the land around the farm. This was accompanied by the interest of the current operators (director and curator Susan Quinn and alternative energy expert and farmer Josef Eckart) in revitalizing the farm: From an entity in seclusion to a place of encounter: animal and human, human and nature, nature and contemporary art.

This genesis gave rise to the cultural center SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement, which makes the activities at Fallbach Farm and its infrastructure available as an alternative space for contemporary artists.

Promoting communication about the rural area, the cultural center pursues goals to improve the common cultural identity and involves disadvantaged groups in cultural events. Social-creative integration gradually contributes to positive change in the rural region through the means of art and culture.

SQFARM. is committed to promoting unusual artistic strategies and practices and providing an appropriate environment for them.

Workshops and Performances


Workshops & Performances 2021

In addition to artist residencies and expert meetings, SQFARM. organizes workshops and performances for people interested in dance from the region – focusing on the love of dance, the fun of expression, and the further development of one’s own dance practice.

On 30 and 31 October 2021, a program of courses including yoga, body conditioning, creative practice, and contemporary dance technique took place. Over the course of a weekend, experienced teachers of contemporary movement arts shared their knowledge with interested workshop participants. The two days ended with a performance in which six dancers of the BODHI PROJECT Dance Company presented an excerpt of their work as a dance ensemble. They presented the artistic work of Reut Shemesh, who developed the contemporary dance piece “TONKY LONKY” with the six dancers during her residency at SQFARM.

SQFARM Program Workshop

Registration for workshops via contact@sqfarm.de

Dance workshop on 30.10.2021 with Hyaejin Lee
Creative Practice Workshop with Lucija Romanova and Kassichana Okene-Jameson
The dancers of the BODHI PROJECT present an excerpt of their repertoire.
Moritz Ostruschnjak & Daniel Conant present an excerpt from "TANZANWEISUNGEN" choreographed by Moritz Ostruschnjak
An excerpt from "TONKY LONKY" by choreographer Reut Shemesh
Jakob Jautz and Eftychia Stefanou present the result of their joint residency
Edivaldo Ernesto shows his choreographic work: the solo "Brace".
Eftychia Stefanou presents the artistic work of choreographer Mala Kline

Round Table – 'Art In The Country'


Experts on the topic of  “Art In The Country”

A round table took place for the first time on 7.11.2021. With invited experts from various fields of contemporary dance, an exchange of ideas and information took place in order to consolidate and further develop the future activities of SQFARM.

The participants had come from all over Germany and the surrounding region of Austria to exchange experiences and develop ideas for the progression of local cultural possibilities.

Under the guidance of the dramaturge Matthias Quabbe, the dance and cultural practitioners took part in an intensive discourse for the first time in November 2021. The result was an exciting and diverse exchange with forward-looking streams of ideas that will continue to take place regularly in the coming years with experts from the field of contemporary dance.

invited experts 2021:
Angela Glechner, Angelika Thiele, Cis Biernickx, Edivaldo Ernesto, Eftychia Stefanou, Jakob Jautz, Moritz Ostruschnjak, Peter Pleyer, Reut Shemesh, Sabina Stücker, Susan Quinn, Matthias Quabbe (moderator) and Birke van Maartens (documentation)

MEET THE ARTISTS BOOKLET_web

The day was rounded off by the showing of choreographic works by five of the invited artists and a subsequent artist talk.

contact@sqfarm.de

From left: Reut Shemesh, Peter Pleyer, Birke van Maartens
From left: Eftychia Stefanou, Jakob Jautz, Susan Quinn, Cis Biernickx
From left: Moritz Ostruschnjak, Sabina Stücker, Margreth Lanzinger, Edivaldo Ernesto

Artist Residencies


SQFARM. Residencies for emerging choreographers 2022

After an intensive phase of research, the choreographic center SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement is launching a residency program for 2022 to support emerging choreographic talent in the field of contemporary dance.

Since its founding, an important component of the entire program has already included intensive discourses with artists, curators, and producers around the creation and exploration of resources, the exchange of artistic needs, realities, as well as local structures with potential for future international collaborations. The results of the past research lead us to come up with a program full of different voices in 2022. The focus lies on choreographers who understand a natural affinity to work in nature as part of their artistic practice. The selected artists are up-and-coming choreographers with their main residence in Germany, who are very interested in expanding their professional development through intensive research and rehearsals at the choreographic center SQFARM. Particularly in recent years, the need for programs to support and strengthen young talent in the performing arts has undeniably increased. The developments in the past two years and the resulting restrictions on creative professionals in the performing arts call for intensive support for young talent. Due to the unique location of the offered platform – a farm in the middle of the mountains in Upper Bavaria, the artists are confronted with a sonic as well as a cultural silence. Far away from institutions and structures of large urban centers, in the seclusion of nature, theory and practice require an intensive examination of the environment in the artistic work.

The initiative SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement is particularly focused on the promotion of emerging artists, constantly striving to create equal opportunities among the new voices in contemporary performing arts, regardless of individual aesthetics and practices. Throughout their work, the choreographers are guided in their process by Susan Quinn. The founder and artistic director of SQFARM. as well as SEAD – Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance, today one of the leading training centers for contemporary dance worldwide, offers decades of experience in the promotion of young talents. The artists selected for the residency program will benefit from this wealth of experience of the former Merci Cunningham Dance Company dancer. During the residency, Susan Quinn accompanies the choreographers as a mentor and choreographic coach. At the conclusion of the residencies, the resulting works of the designated choreographers will be presented in a public format.

This program is supported by the NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz (aid program dance) of Germany.

Applications to: contact@sqfarm.de


Artists in Residency 2021

The SQFARM. promotes unusual artistic strategies and practices and provides an appropriate environment: SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement is a creative space for artists to address artistic questions in a rural setting, with the environment acting as a resource for creative work.

The contemporary dance works created and presented at the choreographic center challenge both artists and audiences from the region to experience the art of dance and performance as part of their community and shared cultural identity. It is important that the artworks and projects are meaningful and useful in the local context. The place offers space, time, and nature and thus the possibility for artists to act in this triptych.

Jakob Jautz
Choreographer & Dancer

 

Born in Tübingen, Jakob Jautz first studied contemporary circus in Berlin and at the Fontys Academy for Circus and Performance Arts in the Netherlands. In 2018, Jautz graduated with majors in dance and choreography from the SEAD Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance. Since then, he has worked with Needcompany – Jan Lauwers (BE), Piergirogio Milano (IT), Grupe Nuits (FR), and Milla Koistinen in Berlin, among others.

Driven by the desire to share and collaborate his own works, he has developed works such as ‘It is Not This or This is Not It‘, which was created at Megaro Athens Concerthall, ‘You Can Not Open An Open Door‘; his solo work ‘Traces‘, as well as the piece ‘Sketches of Togetherness‘ with his collective Table (premiere: summer 2020 in Basel).

He is a co-founder of PACT: Performing Arts Collective Tübingen. The association pursues a special commitment to improving the working conditions of freelance artists as well as the cultural development of Tübingen and its surroundings and thus represents an important initiative for dance professionals in the Tübingen region.

Eftychia Stefanou
Choreographer & Dancer

 

As a freelance dance artist, the Greek-born artist has enriched the German-speaking dance landscape since graduating from the SEAD Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance. The dancer and studied movement pedagogue as well as sports scientist regularly works with the choreographers Jakob Jautz, Mala Kline, Barnaby Booth, Yuri Korec, Jan Lauwers, Paul Blackman, Anastasia Valsamaki, Alexandra Waierstall, visual artist Rita McBride, and has performed at venues including the Bauhaus Museum Dessau (2019, Bodies and Structure/ Alexandra Waierstall), the Salzburg Festival (2018, L’incoronazione di Poppea/ Jan Lauwers), the Piraeus Municipal Theatre in Athens (2020, SONG/ Mala Kline), and the 26. Kalamata Dance Festival (2020, Just Before We Introduce Ourselves, We Are). In 2019, she received the “SNF Artist Fellowship Award” from ARTWORKS.

She currently explores her choreographic facets within “Collective Heterotopia” and “Collective Tάble”. With her text contribution for the “CARE WHERE? Zine,” Efychia approaches the practice of “Performative Writing.” In 2021, in collaboration with dance artists Nefeli Asteriou, Anastasia Valsamaki, and dramaturg Rodia Vomvolou, she published the zine “ARE YOU HERE?”, sponsored by the Greek Ministry of Culture. The magazine is the result of artistic research entitled “Transcription”, which focuses on the concept and process of transcription as a practice of transferring data and experiences from the system of writing to the system of dance and vice versa.

Reut Shemesh
Choreographer

 

Reut Shemesh, born and raised in Israel, works in the fields of contemporary dance, poetry, and experimental film. She received her BA from ArtEZ Institute of the Arts in Arnhem (NL) and holds a Master in Media Design from the Academy of Media Arts (KHM) in Cologne (DE). Her work has been exhibited and performed at tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf, Kampnagel Hamburg, Tanzhaus Zürich, Suzanne Dellal Center Tel-Aviv, Jewish Museum in Berlin, Theatre Lab NYC and Korzo Theater in The Hague. She has been a guest lecturer at the Heinrich-Heine University Düsseldorf, the University of Cologne, the Hochschule Düsseldorf (HSD), and the Center for Contemporary Dance in Cologne (ZZT).

Already nominated for several awards, Reut Shemesh won the 2016 Cologne Dance and Theater Award with her piece LEVIAH, and her video work was presented at the Oberhausen Short Film Festival and Art Cologne in 2017. In April 2019, Shemesh created the piece ATARA as part of the residency program at K3|Tanzplan Hamburg, which was subsequently invited to Tanzplattform Deutschland 2020. Her research project with the working title WITNESS opened the Impulstheaterfestival 2019, the final version of which COBRA BLONDE will premiere at tanzhaus nrw in April 2021. In October 2021, HELLERAU Dresden will show a collection of her recent pieces and installations in cooperation with the Jüdische Kulturtage 2021. This will be followed by further choreographic commissions for Maslool Dance School Tel-Aviv and Stadttheater Oberhausen, whose premiere is scheduled for March 2022. From summer 2022 she is looking forward to a long-term collaboration with the Belgian production house fABULEUS in Leuven.

SQFARM. – An Overview


SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement

The transformation

the Fallbach Barn was transformed into a space for professional and safe performative work, meetings, and presentation. In addition, the infrastructure of the yard was adapted so that today can accommodate up to 10 guests and hold public events or festivals.

SQFARM. as a place of encounter

a place of encounter where contemporary art is made accessible at a low threshold and art and culture create added value for the population. Events and performances in the countryside appeal to an intergenerational community, strengthen civil society and can trigger paradigm shifts in our society.

The Fundament

is a farm, which in perspective will also serve as infrastructure for use by local initiatives. The “SQFARM.” consists of ONE studio, SIX bedrooms, THREE bathrooms, ONE kitchen and FIVE TEN hectares of land.

SQFARM. - a creative space

for artists to address artistic issues in a rural setting, using the environment as a resource for artistic work. The place offers space, time and nature and thus the possibility for artists to operate in this triptych.

The Project Aim

The aim of the project is to promote unusual artistic strategies and collaborative practices and to create a suitable environment.

Founder Susan Quinn

Susan Quinn graduated in 1981 from New York University in Fine Arts in Dance and then joined the Merce Cunningham Dance Company for seven years as a dancer. She continued her exemplary career to dance in New York City and abroad with various choreographers while deepening her interest in the study of choreography and teaching technique and composition. After more than ten years of working as a dancer and teacher in the USA and Europe, she moved to Anger in the early ’90s and founded the internationally renowned dance academy SEAD. From 1991 to 2006 she created pieces for her own company, the Susan Quinn Dance Company. In 2012 Susan was awarded a Merce Cunningham Fellowship by the Merce Cunningham Trust.

Susan is a founding member of the platform tanz_house Salzburg, taught Contemporary Dance and Composition at the University Mozarteum Salzburg from 1991 until 2013, and was a member of the Regional Council for the Arts in Salzburg from 2001 to 2004. In 2008, Susan founded the touring company BODHI PROJECT. In addition, she is initiator and curator of several festivals and performance series for contemporary dance. The City of Salzburg has honored Susan Quinn in 2016 with the International Award of Arts and Culture. In 2021 she founded the cultural center SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement as a meeting place for artists in residence and people from the surrounding area in Anger (Upper Bavaria).

Workshop
Workshop
Workshop

Unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz.

SQFARM.
Fallbach Art Research Movement

Von der Entität in Abgeschiedenheit hin zur Begegnungsstätte: Tier und Mensch, Mensch und Natur, Natur und zeitgenössische Kunst.

Die „SQFARM. – Fallbach Art Research Movement“ im bayrischen Anger ist ein Zentrum für zeitgenössischen Tanz und Kunst.

Der Hof Fallbach in der Gemeinde Anger im Berchtesgadener Land in Bayern hat in seiner 500-jährigen Geschichte regelmäßig Transformationen durchlaufen: Wurde anfangs ein Schwerpunkt auf Kuhwirtschaft gelegt, so verlagerte sich die landwirtschaftliche Tätigkeit in den letzten Jahrzehnten hin zu einer zeitgemäßen Balance aus Pferdebetrieb und ökologisch bewusster Nutzung der Flächen Rund um den Hof. Damit einher ging das Interesse der aktuellen Betreiber*innen (Direktorin und Kuratorin Susan Quinn und Alternativ-Energiefachmann und Landwirt Josef Eckart) an einer Revitalisierung. Von der Entität in Abgeschiedenheit hin zur Begegnungsstätte: Tier und Mensch, Mensch und Natur, Natur und zeitgenössische Kunst.

Aus dieser Genese heraus entstand das Kulturzentrum SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement, welches die Aktivitäten am Hof Fallbach und dessen Infrastruktur als alternativen Raum für zeitgenössische Künstler*innen offensiv nutzbar macht.

Die Kommunikation über den ländlichen Raum fördernd, verfolgt das kulturelle Zentrum Ziele zur Verbesserung der gemeinsamen kulturellen Identität und bezieht benachteiligte Gruppen in kulturelle Ereignisse ein. Die sozial-kreative Integration trägt mit den Mitteln der Kunst und Kultur nach und nach zu einem positiven Wandel in der ländlichen Region bei.

SQFARM. verpflichtet sich, ungewöhnliche künstlerische Strategien und Praxen zu fördern und dafür ein entsprechendes Umfeld zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Workshops & Performances


Workshops & Performances 2021

Neben den Künstler*innen-Residenzen und Expert*innentreffen, veranstaltet SQFARM. Workshops und Performances für Tanzinteressierte aus der Region. Im Vordergrund stehen die Liebe zum Tanz, der Spaß am Ausdruck und die Weiterentwicklung der eigenen Tanzpraxis.

So fand am 30. und 31. Oktober 2021 ein Kursprogramm mit Yoga, Body Conditioning, Creative Practice und zeitgenössischer Tanztechnik statt. Über ein Wochenende teilten erfahrene Dozent*innen der zeitgenössischen Bewegungskünste ihr Wissen mit interessierten Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen. Die beiden Tage schlossen jeweils mit einer Performance ab in der sechs Tänzer*innen der BODHI PROJECT Dance Company einen Auszug ihrer Arbeit als Tanzensemble präsentierten. Unter anderem präsentierten sie die künstlerische Arbeit von Reut Shemesh, welche während Ihrer Residenz auf der SQFARM. das zeitgenössische Tanzstück „TONKY LONKY“ mit den insgesamt sechs Tänzer*innen ausarbeitete.

Darüber hinaus präsentierten Choreograf*innen und Tänzer*innen am 7.11.2021 insgesamt fünf Tanzstücke.

Programm zum Download als pdf

Anmeldung zu Workshops über contact@sqfarm.de

Tanzworkshop am 30.10.2021 mit Hyaejin Lee
Creative Practice Workshop mit Lucija Romanova und Kassichana Okene-Jameson
Die Tänzer*innen des BODHI PROJECT präsentieren einen Auszug aus einem Tanzstück
Moritz Ostruschnjak & Daniel Conant präsentieren einen Auszug aus "TANZANWEISUNGEN" choreografiert von Moritz Ostruschnjak
Ein Ausschnitt aus "TONKY LONKY" von Choreografin Reut Shemesh
Jakob Jautz und Eftychia Stefanou präsentieren das Resultat ihrer gemeinsamen Residenz
Edivaldo Ernesto zeigt seine choreografische Arbeit: Das Solo "Brace"
Eftychia Stefanou präsentiert die künstlerische Arbeit der Choreografin Mala Kline

ROUND TABLE


Round Table – 'Art In The Country'

Expert*innen zum Thema „Art In The Country“

Am 7.11.2021 fand erstmalig ein Round Table statt. Mit geladenen Expert*innen aus verschiedenen Bereichen des zeitgenössischen Tanzes fand ein Austausch von Ideen und Informationen statt, um die zukünftigen Aktivitäten der SQFARM. zu konsolidieren und weiterzuentwickeln.

Die Teilnehmer*innen sind aus weiten Teilen Deutschlands und der angrenzenden Region Österreichs angereist, um Erfahrungsschätze auszutauschen und Denkanstöße zur Entwicklung der lokalen kulturellen Möglichkeiten auszubauen.

Unter der Moderation von Dramaturg Matthias Quabbe begaben sich im November 2021 erstmalig zehn Tanz- und Kulturschaffende Teilnehmer*innen in einen intensiven Diskurs. Es entstand ein spannender und vielfältiger Austausch mit zukunftsweisenden Ideenflüssen, wie er auch in kommenden Jahren regelmäßig mit Expert*innen aus dem Feld des zeitgenössischen Tanzes stattfinden soll.

geladene Expert*innen 2021:
Angela Glechner, Angelika Thiele, Cis Biernickx, Edivaldo Ernesto, Eftychia Stefanou, Jakob Jautz, Moritz Ostruschnjak, Peter Pleyer, Reut Shemesh, Sabina Stücker, Susan Quinn, Matthias Quabbe (Moderation) und Birke van Maartens (Dokumentation)

MEET THE ARTISTS BOOKLET_web

Die Vorführung choreografischer Arbeiten der eingeladenen Künstler*innen und ein anschließender Artist Talk rundeten den Tag ab.

contact@sqfarm.de

Von links: Reut Shemesh, Peter Pleyer, Birke van Maartens
Von links: Eftychia Stefanou, Jakob Jautz, Susan Quinn, Cis Biernickx
Von links: Moritz Ostruschnjak, Sabina Stücker, Margreth Lanzinger, Edivaldo Ernesto

Artist Residencies


SQFARM. Residenzen für aufstrebende Choreograf*innen 2022

Das im Oktober 2021 eröffnete Choreografische Zentrum SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement, ruft nach einer intensiven Phase der Recherche, für das Jahr 2022 ein Residenzprogramm zur Förderung aufstrebender choreografischer Talente im Feld des zeitgenössischen Tanzes auf den Plan.

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil des gesamten Programms beinhaltet seit der Gründung bereits intensive Diskurse mit Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Produzent*innen um das Schaffen und ergründen von Ressourcen, den Austausch um künstlerische Bedürfnisse, Realitäten, sowie lokale Strukturen mit Potenzial für künftige internationale Kooperationen. Die Ergebnisse der vergangenen Recherchen veranlassen dazu, im Jahr 2022 mit einem Programm voller unterschiedlicher Stimmen aufzuwarten. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf Choreograf*innen, welche eine natürliche Affinität zur Arbeit in der Natur als Teil ihrer künstlerischen Praxis begreifen. Bei den ausgewählten Künstler*innen handelt es sich um aufstrebende Choreograf*innen mit Hauptwohnsitz in Deutschland, welche großes Interesse hegen, ihre professionelle Entwicklung durch intensive Recherche und Proben im Choreografischen Zentrum SQFARM. auszubauen. Insbesondere in den vergangenen Jahren ist der Bedarf an Programmen zur Förderung und Stärkung des Nachwuchs in den Darstellenden Künsten unumstritten gestiegen. Die Entwicklungen in den vergangenen zwei Jahren und die damit einhergehenden Einschränkungen für Kreativ-schaffende in den darstellenden Künsten ersuchen eine intensive Förderung von Nachwuchstalenten. Durch den einzigartigen Standort der gebotenen Plattform inmitten eines bayerischen Bauernhofs in Oberbayern, werden die Künstler*innen mit einer klanglichen, wie auch mit einer kulturellen Stille konfrontiert. Fern von Institutionen und Strukturen großer Ballungszentren, in der Abgeschiedenheit der Natur, bedingen Theorie und Praxis eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit der Umgebung in der künstlerischen Arbeit.

Die Initiative SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement versteht sich insbesondere auf die Förderung von aufstrebenden Künstler*innen, stetig darauf bedacht, ungeachtet der individuellen Ästhetiken und Praktiken, eine Chancengleichheit zwischen den neuen Stimmen in der zeitgenössischen darstellenden Kunst zu schaffen. Während ihrer Arbeit werden die Choreograf*innen in ihrem Prozess durch Susan Quinn begleitet. Die Gründerin und künstlerische Direktorin der SQFARM. sowie der SEAD – Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance, heute eine der führenden Ausbildungsstätten für zeitgenössischen Tanz weltweit, offeriert jahrzehntelange Erfahrung in der Förderung junger Talente. Die ausgewählten Künstler*innen für das Residenzprogramm profitieren von diesem weitreichenden Erfahrungsschatz der ehemaligen Tänzerin der Merci Cunningham Dance Company. Im laufe der Residenz begleitet Susan Quinn die Choreograf*innen als Mentorin und Choreografischer Coach. Zum Abschluss der Residenzen werden die entstandenen Arbeiten der vorgesehenen Choreograf*innen in einem öffentlichen Format präsentiert.

„Unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz . “

Bewerbungen an: contact@sqfarm.de


Artists in Residency 2021

Die SQFARM. fördert ungewöhnliche künstlerische Strategien und Praxen und stellt ein entsprechendes Umfeld zur Verfügung: Die SQFARM. ist ein creative space für Künstler*innen, um sich im ländlichen Raum künstlerischen Fragen zu widmen, wobei die Umgebung als Ressource für die kreative Arbeit fungiert.

Die zeitgenössischen Tanzwerke welche im choreografischen Zentrum erarbeitet und präsentiert werden, fordern sowohl die Künstler*innen als auch die Zuschauer*innen aus der Region heraus, die Kunst des Tanzes und der Performance als Teil ihrer Gemeinschaft und ihrer gemeinsamen kulturellen Identität zu erleben. Es ist wichtig, dass die Kunstwerke und Projekte im lokalen Kontext sinnvoll und nützlich sind. Der Ort bietet Raum, Zeit und Natur und somit die Möglichkeit für Künstler*innen, in diesem Triptychon zu agieren.

Jakob Jautz
Choreograf & Tänzer

 

Geboren in Tübingen, studierte Jakob Jautz zunächst zeitgenössischen Zirkus in Berlin sowie an der Fontys Academy for Circus and Performance Arts in den Niederlanden. 2018 schloss Jautz sein Studium in den Hauptfächern Tanz und Choreografie an der SEAD Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance ab. Seither arbeitet er unter anderem mit der Needcompany – Jan Lauwers (BE), Piergirogio Milano (IT), Grupe Nuits (FR), sowie mit Milla Koistinen in Berlin.

Angetrieben von dem Wunsch, seine eigenen Werke mit anderen zu teilen und mit ihnen zusammenzuarbeiten, hat er Werke wie It is Not This or This is Not It, welches in der Megaro Athens Concerthall entstand, You Can Not Open An Open Door; seine Soloarbeit Traces sowie das Stück Sketches of Togetherness mit seinem Kollektiv Table (Premiere: Sommer 2020 in Basel) erarbeitet.

Er ist Mitbegründer von PACT: Performing Arts Collective Tübingen. Der Verein verfolgt ein besonderes Engagement zur Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen von freischaffenden Künstler*innen sowie der kulturellen Entwicklung Tübingens und seiner Umgebung und stellt somit eine wichtige Initiative für Tanzschaffende in der Region Tübingens dar.

Eftychia Stefanou
Choreographer & Dancer

 

Als freischaffende Tanzkünstlerin bereichert die gebürtige Griechin seit ihrem Abschluss an der SEAD Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance die deutschsprachige Tanzlandschaft. Die Tänzerin und studierte Bewegungspädagogin sowie Sportwissenschaftlerin arbeitet regelmäßig mit den Choreograf*innen Jakob Jautz, Mala Kline, Barnaby Booth, Yuri Korec, Jan Lauwers, Paul Blackman, Anastasia Valsamaki, Alexandra Waierstall und der bildenden Künstlerin Rita McBride zusammen und trat unter anderem im Bauhaus-Museum Dessau (2019, Bodies and Structure/ Alexandra Waierstall), bei den Salzburger Festspielen (2018, L’incoronazione di Poppea/ Jan Lauwers), im Piraeus Municipal Theatre in Athen (2020, SONG/ Mala Kline) und beim 26. Kalamata Dance Festival (2020, Just Before We Introduce Ourselves, We Are) auf. Im Jahr 2019 erhielt sie den „SNF Artist Fellowship Award“ von ARTWORKS.

Derzeit erkundet sie ihre choreografischen Facetten innerhalb des „Collective Heterotopia“ und des „Collective Tάble“. Mit ihrem Textbeitrag für das „CARE WHERE? Zine“ nähert Efychia sich der Praxis des „Performativen Schreibens“. 2021 veröffentlichte sie in Zusammenarbeit mit den Tanzkünstlern Nefeli Asteriou, Anastasia Valsamaki und der Dramaturgin Rodia Vomvolou das Zine „ARE YOU HERE?“, gefördert vom griechischen Kulturministerium. Das Magazin ist das Ergebnis einer künstlerischen Recherche mit dem Titel „Transkription“, die sich auf das Konzept und den Prozess der Transkription als Praxis der Übertragung von Daten und Erfahrungen aus dem System der Schrift in das System des Tanzes und umgekehrt konzentriert.

Reut Shemesh
Choreografin

 

Reut Shemesh, geboren und aufgewachsen in Israel, arbeitet in den Bereichen zeitgenössischer Tanz, Poesie und Experimenteller Film. Sie erhielt ihren BA vom ArtEZ Institute of the Arts in Arnhem (NL) und hat einen Master in Mediendesign der Kunsthochschule für Medien (KHM) in Köln (DE). Ihre Arbeiten wurden im tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf, auf Kampnagel Hamburg, im Tanzhaus Zürich, im Suzanne Dellal Center Tel-Aviv, im Jüdischen Museum in Berlin, im Theatre Lab NYC und im Korzo Theater in Den Haag ausgestellt und aufgeführt. Sie war Gastdozentin an der Heinrich-Heine Universität Düsseldorf, der Universität zu Köln, der Hochschule Düsseldorf (HSD) und dem Zentrum für Zeitgenössischen Tanz in Köln (ZZT).

Bereits für mehrere Preise nominiert gewann Reut Shemesh mit ihrem Stück LEVIAH den Kölner Tanz- und Theaterpreis 2016. Ihre Videoarbeit wurde 2017 bei den Oberhausener Kurzfilmtagen und auf der Art Cologne präsentiert. Im April 2019 kreierte Shemesh im Rahmen des Residenzprogramms am K3|Tanzplan Hamburg das Stück ATARA, das daraufhin zur Tanzplattform Deutschland 2020 eingeladen wurde. Ihr Rechercheprojekt mit dem Arbeitstitel WITNESS eröffnete das Impulstheaterfestival 2019, dessen Endfassung COBRA BLONDE im April 2021 im tanzhaus nrw uraufgeführt wird. Im Oktober 2021 wird HELLERAU Dresden in Kooperation mit den Jüdischen Kulturtagen 2021 eine Sammlung ihrer jüngsten Stücke und Installationen zeigen. Es folgen weitere choreografische Auftragsarbeiten für die Maslool Dance School Tel-Aviv und das Stadttheater Oberhausen, dessen Premiere für März 2022 angesetzt ist. Ab Sommer 2022 freut sie sich auf eine langfristige Zusammenarbeit mit dem belgischen Produktionshaus fABULEUS in Leuven.

SQFARM. – ein Überblick


SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement

Ziel des Projekts

ist es, ungewöhnliche künstlerische Strategien und kollaborative Praktiken zu fördern und ein geeignetes Umfeld zu schaffen.

Das Fundament

ist ein Bauernhof, der perspektivisch auch als Infrastruktur für die Nutzung durch lokale Initiativen dienen wird. Die „SQFARM.“ besteht aus EINEM Studio, SECHS Schlafzimmern, DREI Bädern, EINER Küche und FÜNF ZEHN Hektar Land.

SQFARM. als Ort der Begegnung

ein Ort der Begegnung, an dem zeitgenössische Kunst niederschwellig zugänglich gemacht wird und Kunst und Kultur einen Mehrwert für die Bevölkerung schaffen. Veranstaltungen und Performances auf dem Lande sprechen eine generationenübergreifende Gemeinschaft an, stärken die Zivilgesellschaft und können Paradigmenwechsel in unserer Gesellschaft auslösen

SQFARM. ist ein kreativer Raum

für Künstler, sich künstlerischen Fragen im ländlichen Raum zu widmen, wobei die Umgebung als Ressource für die künstlerische Arbeit fungiert. Der Ort bietet Raum, Zeit und Natur und damit die Möglichkeit für Künstler, in diesem Triptychon zu agieren.

Die Transformation

die Fallbach-Scheune wurde zu einem Raum für professionelle und sichere performative Arbeit, Begegnung und Präsentation umgebaut. Darüber hinaus wurde die Infrastruktur des Hofes so angepasst, dass heute bis zu 10 Gäste beherbergt und öffentliche Veranstaltungen oder Feste durchgeführt werden können.

Gründerin Susan Quinn

Susan Quinn erhielt 1981 ihren Abschluss in Fine Arts in Dance an der New York University und war anschließend sieben Jahre lang Tänzerin bei der Merce Cunningham Dance Company. Sie setzte ihre beispielhafte Karriere als Tänzerin in New York City und im Ausland mit verschiedenen Choreograph*innen fort und vertiefte gleichzeitig ihr Interesse im Studium der Choreographie und im Unterrichten von Tanztechnik und Komposition. Nachdem sie mehr als zehn Jahre als Tänzerin und Dozentin in den USA und Europa gearbeitet hatte, zog sie Anfang der 90er Jahre nach Anger und gründete die international renommierte Tanzakademie SEAD. Von 1991 bis 2006 kreierte sie Stücke für ihre eigene Kompanie, die Susan Quinn Dance Company. Im Jahr 2012 wurde Susan Quinn vom Merce Cunningham Trust mit einem Merce Cunningham Fellowship ausgezeichnet.

Susan ist Gründungsmitglied der Plattform tanz_house Salzburg, unterrichtete von 1991 bis 2013 zeitgenössischen Tanz und Komposition an der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg und war von 2001 bis 2004 Mitglied des Landesrates für Kunst und Kultur in Salzburg. 2008 gründete Susan die Tanzkompanie BODHI PROJECT. Darüber hinaus ist sie Initiatorin und Kuratorin zahlreicher Festivals und Performance-Reihen für zeitgenössischen Tanz. Die Stadt Salzburg hat Susan Quinn 2016 mit dem Internationalen Kunst- und Kulturpreis geehrt. Im Jahr 2021 gründete sie das Kulturzentrum SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement als Begegnungsstätte für Artists in Residence und Menschen aus der Umgebung in Anger (Oberbayern).

Workshop
Workshop
Workshop

„Unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz . “