SQFARM.
Fallbach Art Research Movement

Time to expand, time to dance

The "SQFARM. - Fallbach Art Research Movement" in Anger, Bavaria, is a newly founded center for contemporary dance and art. The SQFARM. is a creative place for artists in residence and is opening space, time and nature for artistic questions. At the same time, the SQFARM. is a meeting place for people from the surrounding area: with a diverse program of workshops, events and performances, the SQFARM. brings contemporary dance, art and new impulses to Upper Bavaria.

workshops and events


Masterclass Dance Workshops

Come and enjoy dancing in the countryside! SQFARM. offers a monthly Masterclass Dance Workshop series with renowned contemporary dancers in our exclusive studio.

Dates:

29.1.2022 | 10:30 to 13:30 | Maria Kolegova | Contemporary Workshop
12.2.2022 | 10:30 to 13:30 | Edivaldo Ernesto | Contemporary Workshop
19.3.2022 | 10:30 to 12:30 | Stephane “Peeps” Moun | Contemporary Workshop
23.4.2022 | 10:30 to 13:30 | Milla Koistinen | Contemporary Workshop
21.5.2022 | 10:30 to 13:30 | Milan Herich | Contemporary Workshop
18.6.2022 | 10:30 to 13:30 | Angelika Thiele | Yoga Workshop
25.6.2022 | 10:30 to 13:30 | Eleonore Valere Lachky | Contemporary Workshop

 

Costs: € 50,- (SEAD students € 25,-)

Limited number of participants. In cooperation with SEAD. More info and registration: info@sead.at 

monthly Masterclass Dance Workshops

Masterclass with Milla Koistinen

After studying at the Theatre Academy in Helsinki and obtaining an MA in Choreography from the HZT in Berlin, Finnish choreographer Milla Koistinen worked with Kristian Smeds, Hiroaki Umeda, Peter Verhelst, Cie Heddy Maalem, Christine Gaigg, and Hans van den Broeck. A recipient of the danceWEB scholarship from ImPulsTanz, Vienna, she tours her works internationally and teaches in various contexts, such as for tanzhaus nrw, Iceland Academy of the Arts, Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance (SEAD), HZT Berlin, Sasha Waltz & Guests, Tanzhaus Zürich, Popular Art Center Ramallah and at the Academy of Fine Arts in Helsinki. Her works have been presented at tanzhaus nrw, Mad House Helsinki, Barker-theatre Turku, ARGEKultur Salzburg, Fabriktheater Zürich, Dampfzentrale Bern, Ballhaus Ost, radialsystem and Uferstudios Berlin. In 2020-2024, Milla Koistinen’s work is supported by APAP – FEMINIST FUTURES – a project co-founded by the Creative Europe Program of the European Union. Repetition, pedestrian elements, gestures, stillness and movement, order and chaos, shifting from real to imagined space, recognizable and every day to the strange and poetic are central in her work.

About the Masterclass:

The class will focus on exercises and methods Milla Koistinen uses in diverse ways in her work as a choreographer, performer and teacher. The exercises are designed to evoke precision, clarity, energy, presence and dynamics. Through listening and observing the body the participants practice to move in an alert and articulated way. The variety in given material and improvisations demand the body to adapt and connect information quickly. The aim of the class is to work with tools, which enable detailed, effortless, energetic and inventive ways of moving.

23.4.2022 | 10:30 to 13:30 | Registration: info@sead.at

Image Credits: Tanz im August | HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin, photo: Dajana Lothert, 2021

Artists in Residency

The SQFARM. promotes unusual artistic strategies and collaborative practices and provides a unique environment: SQFARM. is a creative space for artists to address artistic questions in a rural setting, with the environment acting as a resource for artistic work. The place offers space, time and nature and thus the possibility for artists to act in this triptych.

Jakob Jautz
Choreographer and Dancer

Born in Tübingen, Jakob Jautz first studied contemporary circus in Berlin and at the Fontys Academy for Circus and Performance Arts in the Netherlands. In 2018, Jautz graduated with a major in dance and choreography from the SEAD Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance. Since then, he has worked with Needcompany – Jan Lauwers (BE), Piergirogio Milano (IT), Grupe Nuits (FR), and Milla Koistinen in Berlin, among others. Driven by the desire to share and collaborate his own works, he has developed works such as It is Not This or This is Not It, which was created at Megaro Athens Concerthall, You Can Not Open An Open Door; his solo work Traces, as well as the piece Sketches of Togetherness with his collective Table (premiere: summer 2020 in Basel).

Eftychia Stefanou
Choreographer and Dancer

Since graduating from the SEAD Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance the dancer and studied movement pedagogue as well as sports scientist regularly works with the choreographers Jakob Jautz, Mala Kline, Barnaby Booth, Yuri Korec, Jan Lauwers, Paul Blackman, Anastasia Valsamaki, Alexandra Waierstall, and visual artist Rita McBride, and has performed at venues including the Bauhaus Museum Dessau (2019, Bodies and Structure/ Alexandra Waierstall), the Salzburg Festival (2018, L’incoronazione di Poppea/ Jan Lauwers), the Piraeus Municipal Theatre in Athens (2020, SONG/ Mala Kline), and the 26. Kalamata Dance Festival (2020, Just Before We Introduce Ourselves, We Are). In 2019, she received the “SNF Artist Fellowship Award” from ARTWORKS.

Reut Shemesh
Choreographer

Reut Shemesh, born and raised in Israel, works in the fields of contemporary dance, poetry and experimental film. She received her BA from ArtEZ Institute of the Arts in Arnhem (NL) and holds a Master in Media Design from the Academy of Media Arts (KHM) in Cologne (DE). Her work has been exhibited and performed at tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf, Kampnagel Hamburg, Tanzhaus Zürich, Suzanne Dellal Center Tel-Aviv, Jewish Museum in Berlin, Theatre Lab NYC and Korzo Theater in The Hague. Shemesh won the 2016 Cologne Dance and Theater Award. Her research project with the working title WITNESS opened the Impulstheaterfestival 2019, the final version of which COBRA BLONDE will premiere at tanzhaus nrw in April 2021.

SQFARM. – an overview


SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement

Transformation

the Fallbach Barn was transformed into a space for professional and safe performative work, meetings, and presentations. In addition, the infrastructure of the yard was adapted so that today can accommodate up to 10 guests and hold public events or festivals.

The foundation stone

is a farm, which fucntions as infrastructure for local initiatives. The “SQFARM.” is ONE studio, SIX bedrooms, THREE bathrooms, ONE kitchen and FIFTEEN hectares of land.

SQFARM. as a meeting place

where contemporary art is made accessible at a low threshold and art and culture create additional value for the population. Events and performances in the countryside appeal to a cross-generational community, strengthen civil society and trigger paradigm shifts within it.

The SQFARM. is a creative space

for artists to address artistic questions in a rural space, where the environment acts as a resource for the artistic work. The place offers space, time and nature and thus the possibility for artists to act in this triptych.

SQFARM. The Project Aim

The aim is to promote unusual artistic strategies and collaborative practices and to provide a unique environment for them.

Founder Susan Quinn

Susan Quinn has graduated in 1981 from New York University in Fine Arts in Dance and then joined the Merce Cunningham Dance Company for seven years as a dancer. She continued her exemplary career to dance in New York City and abroad with various choreographers, while deepening her interest in the study of choreography and teaching technique and composition. After more than ten years working as a dancer and teacher in the USA and Europe, she moved to Anger in the early ’90s and founded the internationally renowned dance academy SEAD. From 1991 to 2006 she created pieces for her own company, the Susan Quinn Dance Company. In 2012 Susan was awarded a Merce Cunningham Fellowship by the Merce Cunningham Trust.

Susan is a founding member of the platform tanz_house Salzburg, taught Contemporary Dance and Composition at the University Mozarteum Salzburg from 1991 until 2013, and was a member of the Regional Council for the Arts in Salzburg from 2001 to 2004. In 2008, Susan founded the touring company BODHI PROJECT. In addition, she is initiator and curator of several festivals and performance series for contemporary dance. The City of Salzburg has honored Susan Quinn in 2016 with the International Award of Arts and Culture. In 2021 she founded the cultural center SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement as a meeting place for artists in residence and people from the surrounding area in Anger (Upper Bavaria).

Workshop
Workshop
Workshop

Unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz.

SQFARM.
Fallbach Art Research Movement

Alle Zeichen stehen auf Tanz

Die „SQFARM. – Fallbach Art Research Movement“ im bayrischen Anger ist ein neugegründetes Zentrum für zeitgenössischen Tanz und Kunst. Der Bauernhof ist ein kreativer Ort für artists in residence, der Raum, Zeit und Natur für künstlerische Fragen eröffnet. Gleichzeitig ist die SQFARM. ein Begegnungsort für Menschen aus der Umgebung: Mit einem vielseitigen Programm aus Workshops, Veranstaltungen und Performances bringt die SQFARM. zeitgenössischen Tanz, Kunst und neue Impulse nach Oberbayern.

Workshops und Veranstaltungen


Masterclass Dance Workshops

Kommt und tanz mit uns! Monatliche Tanz-Workshop-Reihe mit renommierten zeitgenössischen Tänzer*innen im exklusiven Studio der SQFARM. Außerdem bieten wir einen exklusiven Yoga Workshop mit Angelika Thiele.

Termine:

29.1.2022 | 10:30 bis 13:30 | Maria Kolegova | Contemporary Workshop
12.2.2022 | 10:30 bis 13:30 | Edivaldo Ernesto | Contemporary Workshop
19.3.2022 | 10:30 bis 12:30 | Stephane „Peeps“ Moun | Contemporary Workshop
23.4.2022 | 10:30 bis 13:30 | Milla Koistinen | Contemporary Workshop
21.5.2022 | 10:30 bis 13:30 | Milan Herich | Contemporary Workshop
18.6.2022 | 10:30 bis 13:30 | Angelika Thiele | Yoga Workshop
25.6.2022 | 10:30 bis 13:30 | Eleonore Valere Lachky | Contemporary Workshop

Kosten: € 50,- (SEAD Studierende € 25,-)

Begrenzte Teilnehmer*innenzahl.

In Kooperation mit SEAD. Mehr Infos und Anmeldung: info@sead.at

monatliche Masterclass Dance Workshops

Masterclass mit Milla Koistinen am Samstag, den 23. April 2022

Nach ihrem Studium an der Theaterakademie in Helsinki und einem MA in Choreografie am HZT in Berlin, arbeitete die finnische Choreografin Milla Koistinen mit Kristian Smeds, Hiroaki Umeda, Peter Verhelst, Cie Heddy Maalem, Christine Gaigg und Hans van den Broeck. Außerdem erhielt sie das  dance WEB-Stipendium von ImPulsTanz, Wien. Sie tourt mit ihren Arbeiten international und unterrichtet in verschiedenen Kontexten, u.a. für das tanzhaus nrw, Iceland Academy of the Arts, Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance (SEAD), HZT Berlin, Sasha Waltz & Guests, Tanzhaus Zürich, Popular Art Center Ramallah und an der Academy of Fine Arts in Helsinki. Ihre Arbeiten wurden im tanzhaus nrw, Mad House Helsinki, Barker-theatre Turku, ARGEKultur Salzburg, Fabriktheater Zürich, Dampfzentrale Bern, Ballhaus Ost, radialsystem und den Uferstudios Berlin gezeigt. In den Jahren 2020-2024 wird Milla Koistinens Arbeit von apap – FEMINIST FUTURES – einem vom Creative Europe Programm der Europäischen Union mitbegründeten Projekt – unterstützt. Wiederholungen, fußläufige Elemente, Gesten, Stille und Bewegung, Ordnung und Chaos, Wechsel zwischen realem und imaginärem Raum, zwischen Erkennbarem, Alltäglichem, zwischen Fremdem und Poetischem, stehen im Mittelpunkt ihrer Arbeit.

Über die Masterclass:

Der Unterricht konzentriert sich auf Übungen und Methoden, die Milla Koistinen in ihrer Arbeit als Choreografin, Performerin und Dozentin anwendet. Die Übungen sind so entworfen, dass sie Präzision, Klarheit, Energie, Präsenz und Dynamik fördern. Durch Zuhören und Beobachten des Körpers üben die Teilnehmer*innen sich auf eine wache und artikulierte Weise zu bewegen. Die Vielfalt des vorgegebenen Materials und der Improvisationen schult den Körper, in seiner Fähigkeit zu adaptieren und Informationen schnell zu verbinden. Das Ziel des Kurses ist es, mit Werkzeugen zu arbeiten, die eine detaillierte, mühelose, energiegeladene und erfinderische Art der Bewegung ermöglichen.

Samstag 23. April 2022 | 10:30 bis 13:30 Uhr

Anmeldung: info@sead.at

Image Credits: Tanz im August / HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin, photo: Dajana Lothert, 2021

Artists in Residency

Die SQFARM. fördert ungewöhnliche künstlerische Strategien und kollaborative Praxen und stellt ein entsprechendes Umfeld zur Verfügung: Die SQFARM. ist ein creative space für Künstler*innen, um sich im ländlichen Raum künstlerischen Fragen zu widmen, wobei die Umgebung als Ressource für die künstlerische Arbeit fungiert. Der Ort bietet Raum, Zeit und Natur und somit die Möglichkeit für Künstler*innen, in diesem Triptychon zu agieren.

Jakob Jautz
Choreograf und Tänzer

 

Geboren in Tübingen, studierte Jakob Jautz zunächst zeitgenössischen Zirkus in Berlin sowie an der Fontys Academy for Circus and Performance Arts in den Niederlanden. 2018 schloss Jautz sein Studium in den Hauptfächern Tanz und Choreografie an der SEAD Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance ab. Seither arbeitet er unter anderem mit der Needcompany – Jan Lauwers (BE), Piergirogio Milano (IT), Grupe Nuits (FR), sowie mit Milla Koistinen in Berlin. Er schuf eigene Arbeiten wie It is Not This or This is Not It, welches in der Megaro Athens Concerthall entstand, You Can Not Open An Open Door; seine Soloarbeit Traces sowie das Stück Sketches of Togetherness mit seinem Kollektiv Table (Premiere: Sommer 2020 in Basel).

Eftychia Stefanou
Choreografin und Tänzerin

 

Die Tänzerin und studierte Bewegungspädagogin sowie Sportwissenschaftlerin arbeitet regelmäßig mit den Choreograf*innen Jakob Jautz, Mala Kline, Barnaby Booth, Yuri Korec, Jan Lauwers, Paul Blackman, Anastasia Valsamaki, Alexandra Waierstall und der bildenden Künstlerin Rita McBride zusammen. Sie trat unter anderem im Bauhaus-Museum Dessau (2019, Bodies and Structure/ Alexandra Waierstall), bei den Salzburger Festspielen (2018, L’incoronazione di Poppea/ Jan Lauwers), im Piraeus Municipal Theatre in Athen (2020, SONG/ Mala Kline) und beim 26. Kalamata Dance Festival (2020, Just Before We Introduce Ourselves, We Are) auf. Im Jahr 2019 erhielt sie den „SNF Artist Fellowship Award“ von ARTWORKS.

Reut Shemesh
Choreografin

 

Reut Shemesh, geboren und aufgewachsen in Israel, arbeitet in den Bereichen zeitgenössischer Tanz, Poesie und Experimenteller Film. Sie erhielt ihren BA vom ArtEZ Institute of the Arts in Arnhem (NL) und hat einen Master in Mediendesign der Kunsthochschule für Medien (KHM) in Köln (DE). Ihre Arbeiten wurden im tanzhaus nrw Düsseldorf, auf Kampnagel Hamburg, im Tanzhaus Zürich, im Suzanne Dellal Center Tel-Aviv, im Jüdischen Museum in Berlin, im Theatre Lab NYC und im Korzo Theater in Den Haag ausgestellt und aufgeführt. Shemesh erhielt den Kölner Tanz- und Theaterpreis 2016. Ihr Rechercheprojekt mit dem Arbeitstitel WITNESS eröffnete das Impulstheaterfestival 2019.

SQFARM. – ein Überblick


SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement

Die Transformation

die Fallbach-Scheune wurde zu einem Raum für professionelle und sichere performative Arbeit, Begegnung und Präsentation umgebaut. Darüber hinaus wurde die Infrastruktur des Hofes so angepasst, dass heute bis zu 10 Gäste beherbergt und öffentliche Veranstaltungen oder Feste durchgeführt werden können.

SQFARM. als Ort der Begegnung

ein Ort der Begegnung, an dem zeitgenössische Kunst niederschwellig zugänglich gemacht wird und Kunst und Kultur einen Mehrwert für die Bevölkerung schaffen. Veranstaltungen und Performances auf dem Lande sprechen eine generationenübergreifende Gemeinschaft an, stärken die Zivilgesellschaft und können Paradigmenwechsel in unserer Gesellschaft auslösen.

Das Fundament

ist ein Bauernhof, der perspektivisch auch als Infrastruktur für die Nutzung durch lokale Initiativen dienen wird. Die „SQFARM.“ besteht aus EINEM Studio, SECHS Schlafzimmern, DREI Bädern, EINER Küche und FÜNF ZEHN Hektar Land.

SQFARM. – ein kreativer Raum

für Künstler, sich künstlerischen Fragen im ländlichen Raum zu widmen, wobei die Umgebung als Ressource für die künstlerische Arbeit fungiert. Der Ort bietet Raum, Zeit und Natur und damit die Möglichkeit für Künstler, in diesem Triptychon zu agieren.

Ziel des Projekts

ist es, ungewöhnliche künstlerische Strategien und kollaborative Praktiken zu fördern und ein geeignetes Umfeld zu schaffen.

Gründerin Susan Quinn

Susan Quinn erhielt 1981 ihren Abschluss an der New York University in Fine Arts in Dance und war anschließend sieben Jahre lang Tänzerin der Merce Cunningham Dance Company. Sie setzte ihre beispielhafte Karriere als Tänzerin in New York City und im Ausland mit verschiedenen Choreograph*innen fort und vertiefte gleichzeitig ihr Interesse am Studium der Choreographie und am Unterrichten von Technik und Komposition. Nachdem sie mehr als zehn Jahre als Tänzerin und Lehrerin in den USA und Europa gearbeitet hatte, zog sie Anfang der 90er Jahre nach Anger und gründete die international renommierte Tanzakademie SEAD. Von 1991 bis 2006 kreierte sie Stücke für ihre eigene Kompanie, die Susan Quinn Dance Company. Im Jahr 2012 wurde Susan Quinn vom Merce Cunningham Trust mit einem Merce Cunningham Fellowship ausgezeichnet.

Susan ist Gründungsmitglied der Plattform tanz_house Salzburg, unterrichtete von 1991 bis 2013 zeitgenössischen Tanz und Komposition an der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg und war von 2001 bis 2004 Mitglied des Landesrates für Kunst und Kultur in Salzburg. 2008 gründete Susan die Tanzkompanie BODHI PROJECT. Darüber hinaus ist sie Initiatorin und Kuratorin zahlreicher Festivals und Performance-Reihen für zeitgenössischen Tanz. Die Stadt Salzburg hat Susan Quinn 2016 mit dem Internationalen Kunst- und Kulturpreis geehrt. Im Jahr 2021 gründete sie das Kulturzentrum SQFARM. Fallbach Art Research Movement als Begegnungsstätte für Artists in Residence und Menschen aus der Umgebung in Anger (Oberbayern).

Workshop
Workshop
Workshop

Unterstützt durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ – STEPPING OUT, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen der Initiative NEUSTART KULTUR. Hilfsprogramm Tanz.